ZenStorming

Where Science Meets Muse

The Value of Divergent Thinking – An Analogy From Sports

Posted by Plish on April 25, 2010

Having played goalie in hockey and soccer for most of my life, I’ve spent a lot of time experiencing opposing teams converging upon me. 

In business, converging is considered a skill par excellence.  Find a problem, name your destination and throw everything you have at it to (hopefully) converge on a solution.  In reality, innovations and good design occur when teams and individuals learn to diverge, to see the bigger picture and thus see multiple opportunities for success. 

Here’s a little video I put together that talks about what converging and diverging looks like to a team attacking the obstacle – the goalie.

What are your thoughts?

2 Responses to “The Value of Divergent Thinking – An Analogy From Sports”

  1. Peter said

    Great analogy! I really like it!
    Recently I started posting interestnig analogies I found on the web on blog.ygolana.com. I thought it could be a good idea to create a place where people can share useful analogies such as yours.

  2. Plish said

    Thanks! Love the idea of an analogy blog. I checked it out – nice work. Thanks again for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

 
