ZenStorming

Where Science Meets Muse

Archive for June 18th, 2024

Designing Delight -A Little Change for a Big Smile

Posted by Plish on June 18, 2024


Spray nozzles can be a pain (especially in dim light).
Wide stream?
Narrow stream?
Off???

But that wasn’t the case when I went to spray some of my bonsai trees with Daconil, a fungicide.

I was wowed by the simple design that made my life so much easier in the calm night as I spritzed away wearing a headlamp and insect repellant.

Instead of relying on little , invisible indents on the end of the nozzle to let me know if and how I was spraying, they molded the nozzle itself in the shape of the stream.


It’s so much easier to tell by touch and sight how I’m going to be spreading stuff that I don’t want going where it’s not intended.

Don’t underestimate what a little change can mean.

Sometimes little design changes, seemingly imperceptible modifications, can create delightfully useful product experiences.

Kudos to theĀ  Daconil design team!

Posted in creativity, Customer Focus, Design, Entrepreneurship, experience design, innovation | Tagged: , , , , , | Leave a Comment »